A look back at the 23rd annual Regional Assembly

MARC’s 2019 Regional Leadership Award recipients: Ron Shaffer, Chris Thompson, Maria Meyers, David Slater, Desiree Monize, MARC Board 1st Vice Chair Jimmy Odom and Executive Director David Warm.

On June 14, we held our 24th annual Regional Assembly at the Westin Crown Center Hotel. Over 700 people from across the region attended the event which included a luncheon, award presentation and a keynote speaker.

The MARC Board of Directors recognized Ron Shaffer, former Johnson County Commissioner, with a Distinguished Board Service award. Shaffer served on the MARC Board for 17 years including a two-year term as chair. His 30-year career in public service included 10 years on the Prairie Village City Council, 16 years as mayor of Prairie Village, and four years on the Johnson County Board of Commissioners.

The event also included four Regional Leadership Awards, presented each year to recognize individuals and organizations for advocating regional concepts, approaches and programs; addressing regional challenges; applying innovative solutions to regional problems; and advancing a regional vision of excellence and opportunity. The 2019 honorees were:

  • Maria Meyers, founder of KC SourceLink and vice provost and executive director of the UMKC Innovation Center
  • Desiree Monize, executive director of Avenue of Life
  • David Slater, mayor of Pleasant Valley, Missouri
  • West Central Missouri Community Action Agency

Videos about each of the awardees are online on our YouTube page

Also at the event, Thomas W. Ross of the Volcker Alliance delivered a keynote address on the imperative of public service. Video of Tom’s presentation will be available soon.

Our thanks to everyone who attended, and we hope to see you again next year. See photos from the event here.