MARC Board of Directors elects new officers

The MARC Board of Directors elected a new slate of officers.

Commissioner Harold Johnson Jr., Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas, was elected chair at the Jan. 26 Board meeting. He replaces Commissioner Rob Roberts, Miami County, Kansas, who served as chair for the past two years.

Commissioner Harold Johnson Jr., Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas, was elected chair of the MARC Board of Directors.

Johnson joined the MARC Board in June 2015. He was elected treasurer in 2017 and 2nd vice chair in 2019. He is a long-time community leader and lifelong resident of Wyandotte County. He is the senior pastor of Faith Deliverance Family Worship Center in Kanas City, Kansas, and he previously served as vice president of Commerce Bank. Johnson was elected to the Unified Government Commission in 2015.

“It is an honor to serve as chair of the MARC Board,” said Johnson. “In our region, we have the opportunity to collaborate across jurisdictions on issues that matter to us all. I look forward to continuing to work alongside my fellow board members to build partnerships that benefit everyone in the region.”

Other officers elected at the meeting include:

  • 1st Vice Chair — Carson Ross, Mayor, Blue Springs, Missouri
  • 2nd Vice Chair — Janeé Hanzlick, Commissioner, Johnson County, Kansas
  • Treasurer — Eileen Weir, Mayor, Independence, Missouri
  • Secretary — Beto Lopez, Mayor Pro Tem, Lee’s Summit, Missouri