Johnson County, Kansas, recognized as a Community for All Ages

Pictured from left: Commissioner Janee’ Hanzlick; Commissioner Jeff Meyers; Commissioner Becky Fast; Commissioner Shirley Allenbrand; Commissioner Michael Ashcraft; Deborah Collins, director, Aging and Human Services; Chairman Ed Eilert. Not pictured: Commissioner Charlotte O’Hara.

On Friday, April 16, Johnson County, Kansas, became the first county in our region to be recognized as a Community for All Ages. The award was given at the First Suburbs Coalition meeting and bestows a Bronze Level award to the county, which means county staff adopted a resolution to become a Community for All Ages, presented information to the governing body and other stakeholder groups, and held a public forum on aging.

Since the program started, 17 cities have received recognition at the Bronze, Silver or Gold level. Previous awards have gone to Gladstone, Grandview, Independence, Kearney, Lee’s Summit, Mission, North Kansas City, Raymore and Roeland Park (gold); Excelsior Springs and Liberty (silver); and Blue Springs, Grain Valley, Olathe, Parkville, Peculiar and Raytown (bronze).

“Achieving the Bronze Level of recognition of a Community for All Ages is an important first step toward ensuring that our community is focused on making it a place where everyone belongs and can thrive in a safe and enriching way,” said Deborah Collins, director, Aging and Human Services Department, Johnson County Government. “We are thrilled to be the first county in our region to meet these requirements and look forward to working toward even higher levels of recognition in the future.”

Learn more about Communities for All Ages.